Coming Soon......2018-2019 Scholarship Recipients!
Follow us on Facebook!


2017-2018 Recipients:


Here are two of our recipients of the BFAL scholarships!

Notre Dame's Bryce Riniker
will be attending Iowa majoring in journalism and mass communications

Rachael Langerud
will attend Iowa State majoring in fashion.
Congrats to these graduates, and we look forward to your continued success.



Burlington Fine Arts League Scholarships

The Burlington Fine Arts League offers scholarships to students in Des Moines County who intend to pursue college education in an art related major, as well as those who wish to obtain advanced degrees in art-related fields. These scholarships are given in the form of tuition and paid directly to the school each semester. The scholarship is renewable, and funding may be received for up to three years. The amount of funding awarded to each student may vary and is dependent on the revenue from GALA, and the number of qualified applicants.

The BFAL Scholarship Committee accepts recommendations from Burlington Community High School, Notre Dame High School, West Burlington High School, Danville Community High School, Mediapolis Community High School, and Southeastern Community College, as well as applications submitted by individual students.

Applications for the Fall semester are available beginning January of the same year, and recipients will be notified in May.

All scholarship applications for the 2018-2019 academic year
are due by February 24, 2018.



Applicants for scholarships must be working towards an art-related major.

Undergraduate students must carry a minimum of 12 credit hours or the equivalent per semester, and Graduate students must carry a minimum of 9 credit hours or the equivalent per semester.

A GPA of 3.0 or above should be maintained in the major field of study.

Past scholarship recipients include Music Education and Vocal Music majors; Studio and Art Education majors; and Communication/Broadcast Journalism majors, among others.



Print your application or your renewal application and submit it with a goals statement of less than 100 words, a transcript, and a letter of recommendation to the address below. 

For inquiries, please contact your academic advisor or send an email to

Mailing address:
BFAL Scholarship Committee Chair
Box 243
Burilngton, Iowa 52601


2017 Recipients

Ashlyn Butler
Andrea Campbell
Brenna Eaves
Madison Fisher
Shawn Foster
Rachel Gibbons

Dalton Howell
Rachael Langerud
Clara Reynen
Grace Reynolds
Bryce Riniker
Courtney Stucker



We would like to thank the following donors for their contributions to our 2017 scholarship fund:

Michelle & Mike AbouAsally

Monika & Rick Coursey

Deb Fowler

Bary Green & Jenny Link

Tom & Sally Parrott

Chip & Dana Redinger

Lois & Jerry Rigdon

Matthew Rinker

Pam & Gary Schmeiser

Lonnie Schuyler

Cindy & Scott Spear

John & Audrey Thurman